Hi from Italy

Write a few lines about who you are and where your from here!

Moderators: PinkDiamond, John

Nabbosa

Hi from Italy

Post by Nabbosa »

Good afternoon everyone (at least here in Italy it is :D ),

I'm a newbie opal enthusiast who is looking to get a nice collection and just maybe get into opal cutting as a hobby.
It actually isn't my first time, as a kid I had a dope mineral collection and sold everything when I moved out. I only kept three opals because they were my favourite ones and now I'd like to start collecting again (but just opals!).

-Michele
PinkDiamond

Re: Hi from Italy

Post by PinkDiamond »

Ah, a true opalholic. You'll fit right in here so warmest welcome to the fold, Michele. You're going to love cutting opals, and you'll be able to start out using nail salon tools if you don't have access to a lap. Just make sure you wear eye protection and a mask to keep the airborne particles from getting in your eyes and lungs. We're here for you if you have any questions, so don't be shy about asking for help, and again, welcome to the forum! :D
PinkDiamond
ISG Registered Gemologist

· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ ..·´ There are miracles left for you to do .... -:¦:- -:¦:-
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´* It all begins inside of you. ;)
Nabbosa

Post by Nabbosa »

Wow, really? I thought you needed to make a big investment in power tools like dremmel, cabbing machine and diamond saw in order to start cutting opals. That's why I was still pondering and actually didn't look much into it. Is there some guide for buying and cutting opals with these cheaper tools?
Thanks so much again!
M.
PinkDiamond

Post by PinkDiamond »