Home brew equipment

Share your images, comments and tutorials on your home brew lapidary equipment here!

Moderators: PinkDiamond, John

jakesrocks

Home brew equipment

Post by jakesrocks »

Thanks for starting this new section. As soon as I get all of the pics in one place, and possibly take a couple of new pics, I'll start a thread about a home brew 3 head sphere machine that I've been building for almost 2 years.
opalcreations

Re: Home brew equipment

Post by opalcreations »

No problem!
More good things to come soon :)

Can't wait to see all your pics.

My cabbing machine is in the midst of being rebuilt, I discovered it leaks all over the place since I moved it, it didn't like being in the truck I guess....lol.
Chris :)
jakesrocks

Post by jakesrocks »

LOL, nothing worse than a leaky machine. I'm in the middle of converting an old 6" Beacon Star cabber into a carving machine with 5 - 1/2" convex carving wheels. and when I finish that, I have a vintage Hillquist gem drill to tear down & rebuild. So many projects, so little time.
opalcreations

Post by opalcreations »

Sounds like a kewl project.

I'm actually looking in to importing for resale some diamond electroplated cabbing and carving wheels for resale here in Canada.

If I can obtain anything from China that is half decent quality, (I know, it's a pipe dream!!...LOL) I'll post them here for sale to anyone who might want to try them out.

It sux to have to work on these machines at times, but there is a certain satisfaction that comes with knowing that you designed and built something yourself that works just as good, if not better than an expensive store bought unit!
Chris :)
jakesrocks

Post by jakesrocks »

You might try contacting Jadecarver. http://jadecarver.com/DiamondTools.htm That's where I bought my carving wheels. They're Chinese imports. Heavy machined steel hubs. He might tell you where he gets them.