Joining you from Tennessee

Write a few lines about who you are and where your from here!

Moderators: PinkDiamond, John

granniesgems

Joining you from Tennessee

Post by granniesgems »

I am from Tennessee. I am very very new to this opal addiction. I just mined my first opals ever at the Spencer Opal Mine in Idaho. I am hooked. I've mined North Carolina rubies twice, done a little gold mining, and have visited the diamond mine in Arkansas and hope to go back before this year is up. I'm anxious to learn. I did some cutting away off host rock from an opal yesterday with a diamond wheel on a rotary tool yesterday and it went pretty good. I used one that wasn't quite so great of a find to practice on. Can't wait to do some of the others. They all have host rock I'll have to cut away. Fortunately I am patient and willing to take my time. I will thank you all in advance for all your help. I've read a lot of stuff here and on the former forum. I'm so addicted!!!
PinkDiamond

Re: Joining you from Tennessee

Post by PinkDiamond »

Welcome, grannie! We're here to help feed your addiction, so enjoy yourself and don't hesitate to ask any questions you might have. Did you find anything at the diamond mine? I'm in AR, went there with the ISG, but none of us found anything but tiny garnets that looked charred. :lol:
PinkDiamond
ISG Registered Gemologist

· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ ..·´ There are miracles left for you to do .... -:¦:- -:¦:-
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´* It all begins inside of you. ;)
granniesgems

Post by granniesgems »

I didn't find anything either. It was my first time ever trying to mine something so I had no clue what I was doing. Also had my children with me, so it was a long time ago. I am now sort of retired temporarily and have a little more time to do this stuff. Hoping to have better luck when we return. My son lives in Fayetteville and we are planning a visit in the next couple of months so will have to swing over to the mine while we are there.