Christina Malle on the Limits of Responsible Gold Sourcing

Moderators: PinkDiamond, John

PinkDiamond

Post by PinkDiamond »

I like this designer's story, and how she ended up in being a master goldsmith specializing in using fairmined gold as much as possible. She has good intentions and some decent prices and pieces, so I hope you find the interview JCK did with her interesting. :)

By Victoria Gomelsky | June 09, 2021

Twenty years ago, Christina Malle was a human rights attorney doing pro bono work for asylum seekers in New York City when she strolled past the 92Y, near her home on Manhattan’s Upper East Side, and glimpsed a sign advertising “goldsmithing for absolute beginners.”

“To be able to make something beautiful from a mound of raw materials was really inspiring,” says Malle (pictured). “And I loved the idea of creating a treasure that people in the future would value and hold dear.”

Malle signed up for the course (New York City-based master goldsmith Donna Distefano was her first teacher). As she honed her bench skills and earned her graduate gemologist degree from GIA, Malle continued to represent asylum seekers and practice immigration law. In 2007, however, she decided to pursue jewelry full-time.

In the 14 years since, Malle has invested her time and resources into creating a responsible jewelry practice. She serves on the board of directors of Ethical Metalsmiths and on the events committee and the board of the NY Metro chapter of the Women’s Jewelry Association.

Malle is among the industry’s biggest advocates for traceability and transparency in the jewelry supply chain. When possible, she uses materials whose origins can be documented. When she doesn’t know how a material was sourced, she is up front about that with her customers.

A portion of Malle’s collection is made in traceable Fairmined gold (she became an official Fairmined Licensee in 2019).